Home » DBA » Big Base DBA

Big Base DBA

For a long time I have been trying to convince (cajole, bribe, nag, whine) people into playing Impetus. Whilst I have one regular opponent I really do want more. The game has failed to gain (pun intended) sufficient Impetus in NZ.

So when looking online I was reminded of Steven Thomas’ rebasing project for his Punic Wars 15mm armies. I already had two large 28mm War of the Roses armies based for Impetus:

S8001926

 

I decided to have a look at what I would need to do to play DBA with this collection. Actually not much! All I need to do is to add two artillery (compulsory in DBA but optional in DBMM – go figure) pieces and I have two complete armies.

The above selection was put together for a trial of Hail Caesar. After two games against really good opponents at my favourite Auckland club I decided that Hail Caesar is too brutal and too crude a system. Units manoeuvre like mayflies and the game is over before you have time to dust off your dice. It may be a good game for a massive figure collection and a massive table with 3-4 players a side, but 1:1 on a 6×4 it fails badly IMHO.

So over the next few weeks I will sort out the missing elements and get playing DBA with these armies whilst painting Gauls……….

 

Leave a Reply

